Dreaming of White Ibis

OK, before you all start shouting at once… I know we don’t have White Ibis in Dorset, but I’ve been trawling through film I took in the Florida Keys last month and found a bit of footage I wanted to put in my diary.

If you have never met an Ibis then let me introduce you to Fred. I love the way his knees (do birds have knees?) bend right up under his body when he walks, so much so that it looks like someone is working him with strings from above.

On this day I caught him poking around on the foreshore next to our house, prodding his enormous down-curved beak into the washed up seaweed in search of titbits. He always looked a bit surprised when he actually came up with something!

Ibis are mainly found in marshes and wetlands where they eat frogs and small fish, but in the Keys they also love coming into the gardens (or yards) and catching insects. It’s not unusual to go to the Supermarket and see 30 or more wading around in the Supermarket carpark rain puddles (not something you see at Tescos in the UK on a wet Saturday).

~ by Jane on November 24, 2007.

2 Responses to “Dreaming of White Ibis”

  1. Thank you for visiting my blog. I shall be popping back to visit you too!

  2. I look forward to seeing you here again, and I will be back to Woodlands World.

Leave a Reply

 
