Woken by an Osprey

“What a wonderful way to wake up” you might think “woken by the soft mewing of an osprey” How cruel reality is sometimes…

Osprey, originally uploaded by Nature Watch Corfe Mullen.

It was quite cloudy this morning, so I’d stayed in bed for an extra half hours kip. Dozing peacefully while the waves lapped against the house pillars beneath me. Suddenly my dreams were interrupted by this awful screeching noise. On and on it went. Screech, screech, screech. Eventually I sat up in bed to see what it was – thinking it was one of the terns or seagulls but no, it was a very persistent osprey.

Osprey

Backwards and forwards it went on the breeze, quite high up in the sky but determined to wake every inhabitant of the island. I’ve never heard one make such a din. Usually, when you see a pair, they mew softly to each other. I’m not sure what was up with this one. I watched him for about 10 minutes, just gliding around (making a din) until eventually he landed out of sight. He didn’t seem to be distressed. Just wanted to test his vocal capabilities.

Osprey

Still, you can’t really complain can you!

NB: Sorry about the awful pics. My excuse, well it was a long way up in the sky, I was using full 20x optical zoom, in poor light on a £99 camera. I’m still hoping for better pics of ospreys before I leave – promise TBR!

~ by Jane on April 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
